My trip to Beijing- Summer Palace


This is the second magnificent park which I saw in Beijing. This is not a park actually, it’s the summer palace, was once the summer imperial palace of the Empress Cixi, which is also called Yiheyuan or the Garden of Cultivated Harmony. It was built in the second half of 19th century by the Empress Cixi, one of the powerful figures of the Chinese history. In the middle of the disputes of the heredity and right after the Opium War, she took the power and used the money which was intended to build the Chinese fleet this picturesque palace.

Lake Kunmig covers most part of the palace on the south. The north has a different architectural design with the canals and with the Hill of Longevity. It’s better to start the journey in the morning hours, from the north of the palace, thus you’ll see the old citizens doing their morning tai-chi sports and you will still have the energy to climb the rocks leading to the hill. At the north and around the hill you will see some giant buddhist temples – Temple of the Fragrance of Buddha is the most famous, and have a panorama of the lake and the palace from the top. Once you’ll be down, you’ll find yourself most probably walking under the roofs of the long corridor, a light and elegant wooden construction of 700 metres along the side of the lake where the ceilings and the rafters are decorated with colourful bird and flowers motifs. You may end your trip under these roofs at the point where you’ll admire the grandeur of the Marble Boat of the Empress (it was under renovation unfortunately while I was there).

And at the end of my short trip to there – because it may take a full day!- the calmness of the park had left its place to the tourist crowds and to the unbearable heat. It was time to leave but it’s one of the places in Beijing where I would definitely return one day!

Canals on the north of the palace…

IMG_3491

Morning Tai-Chi…

IMG_3499

Buddhist Temple

IMG_3502

 

IMG_3547

View from the Longevity Hill

IMG_3571

Beautiful decoration on the Long Corridor

IMG_3609

Lake Kunmig

 

IMG_3620

Stone bridge on the south of the palace

IMG_3644

 

4 responses to “My trip to Beijing- Summer Palace

  1. Great pictures, I can’t wait to go to China someday!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Imjapan… I added your blog to my follows because I want to go to Hong Kong and to Japan in my next trips. I really like the cultures of the far east. All the best wishes.

      Like

      • Thank you! I am now following your blog as well, you have been to so many places around the world. I will be leaving for Hong Kong and Japan later this month. I hope you will be able to go yourself someday soon.

        Like

      • Yes travelling had become a part of my life and I started to write on this blog because later it becomes to remember some details like the original names of places and blogs are a kind of archives….thank you again and I wish that you will see soon all the places in your list…

        Like

Leave a Reply

